top of page
  • Writer's pictureVeb-portal Istočni biser

Oulaya Drissi El Bouzaidi: Selected poems



The dairy Of an Autumnal Saturday

(…) Autumn’s very cheerful Along with Salvador Dali (…)

“A first Draft”

(…) I am the high-speed train Carrying young birds. The sea’s herd Renders the sky a dome While time is an orange o’clock


I can put a grain of water On a rope Taking sips of coffee From a hasty cup I might come across your corpse But you can’t see …!

I make winter in the morning But rainless I stay. I smoke a cloud in the evening But in vain, still no rain. My coat is within the reach Though no sky is mine…

The begotten of this flood I am Still I can’t rain…!!

My steps are not enough I sometimes find no directions In my mind Nor does a tree blossom In my heart.

As if I sent God to my path I lock the wall’s gate With scream.

Shall I proceed milling the wind Blowing in there?  Should I sow the tobacco of night Dwelling in my lungs? I might be a heaven Whose light I can’t see

I am a tree Which chose the wrong Option Not to recall its birds In the school’s playground

Deep in me There’s a little sea In my eyes it flows And never does it grow It secretly slips Into a boundless ocean

With one dolphin And a broken trunk of mine I ascend Into Life…

A slight shade Keeps my head safe Before it turns to besiege Weaved with gust. No one hears me but the garden Ashamed of its birds…

Some newborn thing I am bringing back To an old evening Fading away From me…

The ether slaps my cheeks Not to let me Remember…


Thus, like always, I watch the wild wind Heaving me to rose petals Like three corpses in haste… The fishtail flaps It slightly flaps To set me free…

I wish I were late for me Just a single minute away! If only I had confessed to my decay Contemplating The minute…

O little child What is the time? For time was high enough Not to let me be the tree...!! 



Translation to English by Youssef Elharrak

*****************************


Oulaya Drissi  El Bouzaidi  is a Moroccan poet and a member of the Union of the Moroccan writers. Among her works are: -" A bar and if the wine reaches it" (2009)  Dar Tawhidi Publications. - " A long-winged air" in arabic  in 2014 , Dar Tawhidi Publication and in English in 2017, Edilivre Publications  and -" Shadows falling upwards" in 2015.

"Roses imitate me to fall"  2‪018  dar Tawhidi Publications



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page